Beyond My Strength

For we do not want you to be ignorant, brothers, of the affliction we experienced in Asia. For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead. He delivered us from such a deadly peril, and He will deliver us. On Him we have set our hope that He will deliver us again. You also must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessing granted us through the prayers of many. – 2 Corinthians 1:8-11

This is where I am living right now. I look back on so many moments when I feared deliverance would never come – that the pain would last forever or the darkness never lift. But He always came. Maybe not when when I wanted or when I thought necessary, but He has never allowed the waves to drown me, no matter high they grew. With each new struggle, I once again fear I will not make it. But I have a God who has PROMISED to deliver. Not just once but again and again. This is my only hope. I cannot look to doctors, friends, parents, pastors, or myself. My God alone is able to deliver me. And this is what I must cling to, whatever may come.

Take heart, friend. He will deliver you, too. He knows the perfect hour, the right moment. Let us trust Him regardless of our fears. For some of us, that deliverance may be to a Place of glory unspeakable where we will behold the beautiful face of our Deliverer. Regardless of the manner of deliverance, it will come, and it has been promised. Lord, help us to hold on, knowing You are holding onto us.

~ by Charissa Galbraith on April 3, 2011.

Leave a comment