Winds & Waves

Some went down to the sea in ships, doing business on the great waters; they saw the deeds of the Lord, His wondrous works in the deep. For He commanded and raised the stormy wind, which lifted up the waves of the sea. They mounted up to heaven; they went down to the depths; their courage melted away in their evil plight; they reeled and staggered like drunken men and were at their wits’ end (or “and all their wisdom was swallowed up.”). Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and He delivered them from their distress. He made the storm be still, and the waves of the sea were hushed. Then they were glad that the waters were quiet, and He brought them to their desired haven. Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man! – Psalm 107:23-31

And when he got into the boat, his disciples followed him. And behold, there arose a great storm on the sea, so that the boat was being swamped by the waves; but He was asleep. And they went and woke Him, saying, “Save us, Lord; we are perishing.” And He said to them, “Why are you afraid, O you of little faith?” Then He rose and rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was a great calm. And the men marveled, saying, “What sort of man is this, that even winds and sea obey Him?” – Matthew 8:23-27

Sometimes I fight the wind and waves. Most of the time I fear their fury. But there is one thing I regularly fail to do – to remember that these very waves and this very storm must submit to His command. Even the most violent storm must cease in an instant if He but speaks the word. He rules all creation. So, why should I fear? Why should I agonize in turmoil over how I am going to find the way through this or what decision is the right one? He knows, so I can rest with my not knowing. Easier said than done, right? Yet, knowing that He knows and has the power to still the storm brings me little comfort unless I also know something else – steadfast love. It is His “steadfast love” – a love that never changes even when I change – which can and should provide me great comfort and hope. For not only is this all-powerful, all-knowing, and all-wise One my Friend, but He is my Father, and as such, He will only allow pain to come to me that has first passed through His hands of steadfast love. Because He is so good, so loving, and so wise, He knows exactly when to calm the winds, quiet the waters, and bring me to my “desired haven.” I often think I know better. I want to be there now. But how glad I am that He does not work according to my schedule. He is so much wiser. And He is kind. The question is will I wait for Him? Will I trust Him when those winds are blinding and the waves threaten to pull me under?

Many days, I slip into the trap of believing that I must take care of myself, which only leads me to the place of desperation in which those men on the sea found themselves. I find myself at my “wits’s end” or feeling as if all my wisdom is “swallowed up.” There is usually a multitude of counsel, advice, and knowledge at hand, but a plethora of possibilities, suggestions, and opinions does not bring peace. It is only His voice that does that. I want control. I hate surrender. But surrendering to my wise Captain brings peace. Rest. Hope. And help to ride out the storm, assured that at just the right time the boat will arrive in a safe harbor.

On a smaller scale, I have seen Him do this again and again, calming the winds and rescuing me from going under. One day, He will do it on the grand scale as well. Oh, that I might trust Him enough now to wait in peace, watching with expectant joy for the haven that is coming and trusting Him to keep my ship upright until He brings me to those calm and sweet waters of rest.

But as for me, my prayer is to You, O Lord. At an acceptable time, O God, in the abundance of Your steadfast love answer me in Your saving faithfulness. – Psalm 69:13

~ by Charissa Galbraith on May 6, 2011.

4 Responses to “Winds & Waves”

  1. i needed to read this tonight. thank you.

  2. Oh, I’m so glad, Megan. I needed to apply it myself that night and still do. Praying for you.

  3. Charissa, thank you…for now you are ministering from the depths of grace. The more helpless you become, the more refined the wisdom and hope that you bring. The dross continues to be consumed and the fine gold shines in your writing. I am finding true treasure in your darkness. Thank you…and thank you father.

    • Thank you, Lisa. That is only a miracle of grace. You are kind to take the time to encourage me. I pray that what you have said does happen. Grateful for you!

Leave a comment